9.6 C
New York
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Ex-UFC Ref ‘Big’ John McCarthy Comments On Legality Of Justin Gaethje’s Brutal Head Kick KO At UFC 291

Published:

[embedded content]

Well the shin didn’t land on Dustin’s chin. It landed on Dustin’s arm which was driven into the head and jawline by the shin. The foot wrapping around towards the back of the head is totally legal https://t.co/J5UEiSNDBZ“I’m not advocating for anything to be done about it but I watched back Gaethje’s headkick KO & it solely landed on the back of the head/neck of Poirier which put him to sleep,” MMA Joey wrote on Twitter. “It’s clear as day in the replay. Could this in any universe be used to appeal the loss? #UFC291”I’m not advocating for anything to be done about it but I watched back Gaethje’s headkick KO & it solely landed on the back of the head/neck of Poirier which put him to sleep. It’s clear as day in the replay. Could this in any universe be used to appeal the loss? #UFC291 pic.twitter.com/BUdxE1gE4BWhile the clip shows Gaethje’s foot hitting more of Poirier’s neck rather than his head, it immediately had fight fans questioning whether or not Poirier could make an appeal with the athletic commission.

John McCarthy Confirms Justin Gaethje’s ‘Headshot, Dead’ Sequel Was Perfectly Legal

Enter long-time UFC referee ‘Big’ John McCarthy, who provided his insight on the devastating knockout blow. With his victory at UFC 291, Justin Gaethje will now turn his attention toward adding another title belt to his collection. Specifically, the lightweight title that currently resides with Dagestani destroyer Islam Makhachev. In October, Makhachev is set to defend his title against former champion Charles ‘Do Bronx’ Oliveira at UFC 294. The winner is now expected to face Gaethje in early 2024. Former referee ‘Big’ John McCarthy has weighed in on the legality of Justin Gaethje’s stunning second-round head kick KO against Dustin Poirier at UFC 291.

But as the dust began to settle, some fans came out questioning whether or not Justin Gaethje’s head kick finish was actually legal. On Twitter, one user, in particular, noted that Gaethje’s foot appeared to wrap around and tag the back of Dustin Poirier’s head, making it an illegal strike.

[embedded content]

Related articles